Final Reflection Post: Goodbye UOSM2008 – The End to A New Beginning.

My Learning Progress

UOSM2008 has been a contemporary, flexible and innovative way of learning. Prior to this module, I underestimated the influence of living and working on the web, which is vital for the economy and our personal identities (Rauchway, 2001). Nonetheless, my learning throughout this course has been an enjoyable experience, enhancing my skills in the blogging world. To see how far I have progressed, I once again completed my self-assessment form.

Figure 1. Self-assessment presentation. Self-produced using Google Slides.

These scores highlight how my skills have improved dramatically throughout the module. I became more active online, developed my visuals and improved my critical and analytical skills. For example, my competency with Twitter increased by interacting with peers; I learned how to create appealing videos (e.g. PowToon) to explain my arguments further, and was able to provide the pros and cons of many discussions.

Newest

Figure 2. A presentation illustrating my skills. Self-produced using Prezi.

Development of Skills

February (5)

Figure 3. Timeline showing my learning approach throughout the topics. Self-produced using PiktoChart.

Following this, UOSM2008 has been exemplary in increasing my chances of employment from organisations around the globe; teaching me the necessary skills to adapt my social profiles. These blogging skills have also helped my Psychology degree, as it motivated me to hone my essays by only including concise and consistent information.

Development of Profiles

I did not have a professional online profile beforehand, which may have hindered my job prospects. Since then, I have taken more time to ensure my personal and professional social media accounts contain relevant material, especially since Topic 3, which highlights the importance of one’s online profile impacting their working life. This encouraged me to examine my online identities, privacy, and security settings.

Figure 4. A video highlighting my time throughout UOSM2008. Self-produced using PowToon.

Therefore, I have created a LinkedIn account which aims to help promote myself to employers, in addition to enhancing my social connections. My LinkedIn account also links to my other social media, illustrating my authenticity. I even received a work experience opportunity due to my updated professional profile.

I recently (4)

Figure 5. My LinkedIn Account. Screenshot.

Screenshot save

Figure 6. Work experience opportunity from LinkedIn. Screenshot.

Moreover, engaging in UOSM2008 persuaded me to keep continuing using Twitter for news, interests, and interactions in the foreseeable future.

A crucial way to assess how my online profile has improved was through Google search. After all, the search engine uses algorithms to evaluate one’s online activity (Beel & Gipp, 2009). Correspondingly, through searching myself, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

Add a little bit of body text (1)

Figure 7. Google search. Screenshot.

Personal Experience and Future Steps

coverejej

Figure 8. The overall experience of this module. Self-produced using Canva.

Ultimately, I will take into account all the lessons I have learned from this module with confidence, planning on making a travel blog by creating a new WordPress, and uploading YouTube videos to document them. I also intend to keep learning through more online discussions via Twitter, TED Talks, and similar websites. After all, blogging is a satisfying experience which showcases one’s creativity (Kjellberg, 2010; Chen, 2012).

Thank you to LISA, Sarah and NIC (2)

Figure 9. Thank you banner. Self-produced using Adobe Photoshop.

Conclusion

Overall, since the beginning of this module, my online profile has drastically increased – it gave me more confidence with online tools, further self-promotion, and more knowledge in employability. I would like to thank Lisa, Sarah, and Nic for their inspiring and thought-provoking sessions, and my peers for their excellent blog posts. I have enjoyed this module immensely and look forward to reading others’ reflections, and to continue, improving my online skills.

Word count: 496

Link to My Online Profiles

Email: wwjjbeh@gmail.com

Instagram: wwjjbeh

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/wei-beh/

Twitter: @wwjjbeh1

WordPress: https://wwjjbeh.wordpress.com/

YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIqqNphqoJ9YjQRoHAUE7TA

Featured Blogs

Wei’s posts: About me, Topics 23.

References

Beel, J., & Gipp, B. (2009). Google Scholar’s ranking algorithm: The impact of citation counts (An empirical study). Third International Conference on Research Challenges in Information Science.

Chen, G. M. (2012). Why do women write personal blogs? Satisfying needs for self-disclosure and affiliation tell part of the storyComputers in Human Behavior, 28(1), 171–180. doi: 10.1016/j.chb.2011.08.024

Kjellberg, S. (2010). I am a blogging researcher: Motivations for blogging in a scholarly. First Monday, 15(8). doi: 10.5210/fm.v15i8.2962

Rauchway, R. (2001). The high cost of living in the progressives’ economy. The Journal of American History, 88(3), 898. doi: 10.2307/2700392

Figure References

Figure 1. Created from Canva.

Figure 2. Created from Google Slides.

Figure 3. Created using Piktochart.

Figure 4. Created from PowToon.

Figure 5. Screenshot from LinkedIn.

Figure 6. Screenshot from LinkedIn.

Figure 7. Screenshot from Google Search.

Figure 8. Created from Canva.

Figure 9. Created from Adobe Photoshop CS5.

Featured image. Buntings. Self-taken at the University of Southampton.

Leave a Reply

